Scanning electrochemical microscopy (SECM)

Contacts : Carlos Sánchez-Sánchez ; Vincent Vivier

Scanning electrochemical microscopy (SECM) is a technique that emerged in the late 1980s following the developments of the scanning tunneling microscopy and the atomic force microscopy. SECM is used to characterize interfacial reactivity or to perform surface modifications at the micrometer scale using an ultra-microelectrode (UME) as a local probe. This technique is now widespread and has applications in fields as diverse as biology for the characterization of living cells, molecular electrochemistry for the determination of complex reaction mechanisms or the study of fast kinetics, materials science for the development of new catalyst compositions or the study of material degradation.

Principle

SECM is based on the use of an UME that is positioned close to a substrate to obtain its topography or local reactivity from the measurement of the current flowing through the UME. By carefully selecting the polarization potential of the probe, a stationary response for the current is obtained, the value of which is controlled by the diffusion coefficient, the concentration of the electroactive species and the radius of the microelectrode. The electrochemical response of the probe will therefore make it possible to quantitatively characterize the different heterogeneities at the electrode surface. The most common operating modes are feedback modes and generator/collector modes. The spatial resolution of the SECM depends on two main parameters: the size of the probe used and the positioning distance between the probe and the substrate. It is possible to use nanoelectrodes or microelectrodes as local probes, but the main difficulty lies in controlling the distance between the probe and the substrate in order to avoid any contact between them.

Feedback modes

Feedback modes consist of using a redox mediator in solution and polarizing the microelectrode to a potential to observe the steady-state current (corresponding to the diffusion limited current). When the probe is approached from a substrate at a distance less than the size of the UME diffusion layer (i.e. a few times its radius), it is then possible to characterize the interactions between the species produced at the UME and the substrate. If the substrate is an insulator, the diffusion layer at the UME is disturbed by blocking the arrival of redox species from the bulk solution, and the current decreases as the probe-to-substrate distance decreases: this is called the negative feedback mode (Figure 1).

Fig01
Figure 1: feedback modes used in electrochemical microscopy.

 

This mode makes it possible to characterize the microelectrode used as a local probe, to precisely position the probe in the vicinity of the interface to be characterized and to obtain the topography of the interface by scanning the probe above the material surface (electrochemical imaging). Conversely, if the substrate is a conductor, the species consumed at the probe can be regenerated back on the substrate and react again at the probe (Figure 1) causing a higher current than in the presence of an insulating substrate for the same distance: this is called the positive feedback mode. In addition, the higher the electrokinetic constant, the higher the current increases as the probe-o-substrate distance decreases. The approach curves thus obtained (probe current as a function of probe-to- substrate distance) allow quantitative studies of the local reactivity of the substrate. This operating mode also makes it possible to obtain maps of the local reactivity of an interface by scanning the probe in a plane parallel to the substrate as shown in Figure 2 in the case of a duplex stainless steel.1

Fig2

Figure 2: Local reactivity of a duplex steel imaged by SECM with ferrocene methanol as redox mediator. The most active areas correspond to the ferritic phase, the least active areas correspond to the austenitic phase.

Generator / collector modes

The second type of operation is the generator/collector mode, which consists in generating a species at one of the two electrodes (for example on the substrate) and performing detection on the other (for example on the probe). With this operating mode, it is possible to use amperometric probes (a polarized microelectrode with the appropriate potential), but also selective electrodes such as potentiometric microprobes that allow the concentration of a specific species in solution to be measured locally. This operating mode also allows the use of nanoelectrode as a local probe to characterize concentration profiles in the vicinity of larger electrodes without feedback effects.

Other Operating modes

Fig03
Figure 3: images obtained from the electrolyte resistance measurement performed with a 10 µm platinum microelectrode above a surface of pure Mg after (a) 4 h and (b) 24 h of immersion in Na2SO4 solution.

Other operating modes have been developed to overcome some experimental difficulties. When it is not possible to add a redox mediator in solution, one possible alternative is to use the electrolyte resistance measurement at the probe.2 For instance, this approach allows to characterize the formation of an oxide film on the surface of an electrode as shown in Figure 3 in the case of a magnesium electrode.3

Fig04
Figure 4: Images of the reactivity of a silver UME to the chloroform reduction as a function of potential. CHCl3 is brought near the interface by a micropipette.

It is also sometimes easier to bring a species locally with a micro pipette so that it reacts with the substrate, for example for the characterization of catalysts.4-5 Figure 4 illustrates the use of this technique for studying the reactivity of an Ag microelectrode for the reduction of chloroform at three different potentials.

Similarly, the use of a microcapillary also allows a controlled amount of chloride ion to be supplied locally to study the rupture of the passive layer on metals and the mechanisms for the propagation of pits.6-7

Equipment available at LISE

We use commercial equipment and equipment developed in the laboratory. The latter allow us to develop the technology and adapt it to our various problems.

 

References

  1. de Assis, K. S.; de Sousa, F. V. V.; Miranda, M.; Margarit-Mattos, I. C. P.; Vivier, V.; Mattos, O. R., Assessment of electrochemical methods used on corrosion of superduplex stainless steel. Corros. Sci. 2012, 59, 71-80.
  2. Gabrielli, C.; Huet, F.; Keddam, M.; Rousseau, P.; Vivier, V., Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy Imaging by Means of High-Frequency Impedance Measurements in Feedback Mode. J. Phys. Chem. B 2004, 108 (31), 11620-11626.
  3. Baril, G.; Galicia, G.; Deslouis, C.; Pebere, N.; Tribollet, B.; Vivier, V., An impedance investigation of the mechanism of pure magnesium corrosion in sodium sulfate solutions. J. Electrochem. Soc. 2007, 154 (2), C108-C11
  4. Perales-Rondón, J. V.; Solla-Gullón, J.; Herrero, E.; Sánchez-Sánchez, C. M., Enhanced catalytic activity and stability for the electrooxidation of formic acid on lead modified shape controlled platinum nanoparticles. Applied Catalysis B: Environmental 2017, 201, 48-57.
  5. Lugaresi, O.; Perales-Rondon, J. V.; Minguzzi, A.; Solla-Gullon, J.; Rondinini, S.; Feliu, J. M.; Sanchez-Sanchez, C. M., Rapid screening of silver nanoparticles for the catalytic degradation of chlorinated pollutants in water. Appl. Catal. B-Environ. 2015, 163, 554-563.
  6. Aouina, N.; Balbaud-Celerier, F.; Huet, F.; Joiret, S.; Perrot, H.; Rouillard, F.; Vivier, V., A flow microdevice for studying the initiation and propagation of a single pit. Corros. Sci. 2012, 62, 1-4.
  7. Heurtault, S.; Robin, R.; Rouillard, F.; Vivier, V., Initiation and propagation of a single pit on stainless steel using a local probe technique. Faraday Discuss. 2015, 180, 267-282.

La microscopie électrochimique à balayage (SECM)

Contacts : Carlos Sánchez-Sánchez ; Vincent Vivier

 

La microscopie électrochimique à balayage (SECM) est une technique qui est apparue à la fin des années 80 suite aux développements de la microscopie à effet tunnel et de la microscopie à force atomique. La SECM permet de caractériser la réactivité interfaciale ou de réaliser des modifications de surface à l’échelle micrométrique en utilisant une microélectrode (UME) comme sonde locale. Cette technique est maintenant largement répandue et trouve des applications dans des domaines aussi variés que la biologie pour la caractérisation de cellules vivantes, l’électrochimie moléculaire pour la détermination de mécanismes réactionnels complexes ou l’étude de cinétiques rapides, en science des matériaux pour la mise au point de nouvelles compositions de catalyseurs ou encore pour étudier la dégradation des matériaux.

Principe

La SECM est basée sur l’utilisation d’une UME que l’on positionne proche d’un substrat afin d’en obtenir la topographie ou la réactivité locale à partir de la mesure du courant traversant l’UME. En choisissant soigneusement le potentiel de polarisation de la sonde, on obtient une réponse stationnaire pour le courant, dont la valeur est contrôlée par le coefficient de diffusion et la concentration de l’espèce électroactive et le rayon de la microélectrode. La réponse électrochimique de la sonde va donc permettre de caractériser de manière quantitative les différentes hétérogénéités d’une interface solide / électrolyte. Les modes de fonctionnement les plus couramment utilisés sont les modes feedback et les modes générateur/collecteur. La résolution spatiale de la SECM dépend de deux principaux paramètres : la taille de la sonde utilisée et la distance de positionnement entre la sonde et le substrat. Il est possible d’utiliser des nanoélectrodes ou des microélectrodes comme sonde locale, mais la difficulté majeure réside dans le contrôle de la distance entre la sonde et le substrat afin d’éviter tout contact entre eux.

Les modes « feedback »

Les modes feedback consistent à utiliser un médiateur rédox en solution et à polariser la microélectrode à un potentiel permettant d’observer le courant stationnaire limité par la diffusion. Lorsqu’on approche la sonde d’un substrat à une distance inférieure aux dimensions de la couche de diffusion de l’UME (c'est-à-dire à quelques fois son rayon), il est alors possible de caractériser les interactions entre les espèces produites à l’UME et le substrat. Si le substrat est un isolant, la couche de diffusion des espèces arrivant à l’UME est perturbée, et le courant diminue lorsque la distance sonde / substrat diminue : on parle alors de « negative feedback » (figure 1).

Fig01
Figure 1 : Représentation des modes feedback utilisés en microscopie électrochimique.

 

Ce mode de fonctionnement permet de caractériser la microélectrode utilisée comme sonde locale, de positionner précisément la sonde au voisinage de l’interface à caractériser et d’obtenir la topographie de l’interface en réalisant un balayage de la sonde (imagerie électrochimique). Inversement, si le substrat est conducteur, l’espèce consommée à la sonde peut être régénérée sur le substrat et réagir de nouveau à la sonde (figure 1) provoquant un courant plus important qu’en présence d’un substrat isolant pour une même distance : on parle alors de mode « positive feedback ». De plus, plus la constante électrocinétique est grande, plus le courant augmente quand la distance sonde / substrat diminue. Les courbes d’approche ainsi obtenues (courant de la sonde en fonction de la distance sonde / substrat) permettent les études quantitatives de la réactivité locale du substrat. Ce mode de fonctionnement permet également d’obtenir des cartographies de la réactivité locale d’une interface en réalisant un balayage de la sonde dans un plan parallèle au substrat comme illustré sur la figure 2 pour un alliage d’acier duplex.1

Fig2

Figure 2 : Réactivité locale d’un acier duplex imagée par SECM avec le ferrocène méthanol comme médiateur rédox. Les zones les plus actives correspondent à la phase ferritique, les moins actives à la phase austénitique.

Les modes « générateur / collecteur »

Le second type de fonctionnement est le mode générateur / collecteur qui consiste à générer une espèce à l’une des deux électrodes (par exemple sur le substrat) et à réaliser la détection sur l’autre (par exemple sur la sonde). Avec ce mode de fonctionnement, il est possible d’utiliser des sondes ampérométriques (une microélectrode polarisée au potentiel adéquat), mais aussi des électrodes sélectives comme des microsondes potentiométriques qui permettent de mesurer localement la concentration d’une espèce spécifique en solution. Ce mode de fonctionnement permet également l’utilisation de nanoélectrode comme sonde locale pour caractériser les profils de concentration au voisinage d’électrode de plus grande dimension en s’affranchissant des effets de feedback.

Autres modes de fonctionnement

Fig03
Figure 3 : images de la résistance d’électrolyte réalisées avec une microélectrode en platine de 10 µm au-dessus de la surface du Mg pur après : (a) 4 h et (b) 24 h d’immersion dans une solution de Na2SO4.

D’autres modes de fonctionnement ont été développés afin de palier à certaines difficultés expérimentales. Lorsqu’il n’est pas possible d’ajouter un médiateur rédox en solution, une alternative possible est d’utiliser la mesure de la résistance d’électrolyte à la sonde.2 Cette approche permet par exemple de caractériser la formation d’un film d’oxyde à la surface d’une électrode comme illustrée sur la figure 3 dans le cas d’une électrode de magnésium.3

Fig04
Figure 4 : Images de la réactivité d’une UME d’argent vis-à-vis de la réduction du chloroforme en fonction du potentiel. CHCl3 est apporté voisinage de l’interface par une micropipette.

Il est également parfois plus facile d’apporter localement une espèce avec une micropipette afin qu’elle réagisse avec le substrat comme par exemple pour la caractérisation de catalyseurs.4-5 La figure 4 illustre l’utilisation de cette technique pour l’étude de la réactivité d’une microélectrode d’Ag pour la réduction du chloroforme à trois potentiels différents.

De même, l’utilisation d’un microcapillaire permet également d’apporter localement une quantité contrôlée d’ion chlorure pour étudier la rupture de la couche passive sur les métaux et les mécanismes de propagation des piqûres.6-7

Appareillage disponible au LISE

Nous utilisons des équipements commerciaux et des équipements développés au laboratoire. Ces derniers permettent de faire évoluer la technique et l’adapter à nos différentes problématiques.

 

Références

  1. de Assis, K. S.; de Sousa, F. V. V.; Miranda, M.; Margarit-Mattos, I. C. P.; Vivier, V.; Mattos, O. R., Assessment of electrochemical methods used on corrosion of superduplex stainless steel. Corros. Sci. 2012, 59, 71-80.
  2. Gabrielli, C.; Huet, F.; Keddam, M.; Rousseau, P.; Vivier, V., Scanning Electrochemical Microscopy Imaging by Means of High-Frequency Impedance Measurements in Feedback Mode. J. Phys. Chem. B 2004, 108 (31), 11620-11626.
  3. Baril, G.; Galicia, G.; Deslouis, C.; Pebere, N.; Tribollet, B.; Vivier, V., An impedance investigation of the mechanism of pure magnesium corrosion in sodium sulfate solutions. J. Electrochem. Soc. 2007, 154 (2), C108-C11
  4. Perales-Rondón, J. V.; Solla-Gullón, J.; Herrero, E.; Sánchez-Sánchez, C. M., Enhanced catalytic activity and stability for the electrooxidation of formic acid on lead modified shape controlled platinum nanoparticles. Applied Catalysis B: Environmental 2017, 201, 48-57.
  5. Lugaresi, O.; Perales-Rondon, J. V.; Minguzzi, A.; Solla-Gullon, J.; Rondinini, S.; Feliu, J. M.; Sanchez-Sanchez, C. M., Rapid screening of silver nanoparticles for the catalytic degradation of chlorinated pollutants in water. Appl. Catal. B-Environ. 2015, 163, 554-563.
  6. Aouina, N.; Balbaud-Celerier, F.; Huet, F.; Joiret, S.; Perrot, H.; Rouillard, F.; Vivier, V., A flow microdevice for studying the initiation and propagation of a single pit. Corros. Sci. 2012, 62, 1-4.
  7. Heurtault, S.; Robin, R.; Rouillard, F.; Vivier, V., Initiation and propagation of a single pit on stainless steel using a local probe technique. Faraday Discuss. 2015, 180, 267-282.