TERS Principle

Submitted by Ivan Lucas on Wed, 10/31/2018 - 14:31

Tip-Enhanced Raman Spectrosocpy (TERS)

To obtain a spectral signature at a finer scale than the micrometer (currently in the order of a few nanometers), the source of the Raman excitation must itself be nanometric. This recent methodology exploits the amplification of the electromagnetic field and therefore of the Raman signal observed at nano-antennas (by peak effect), it is the TERS effect. This new methodology, first proposed in the 2000s, is difficult to implement and remains the preserve of a few specialized laboratories.  

TERS-NanoRaman

Some definitions:

Near and far field: Unlike SERS, TERS measurements use a tapered tip (gold, silver) illuminated by a laser source and brought into contact with the sample to be analyzed. Thanks to the confinement of the electric field at the tip end (hot spot), the Raman signal of the compounds at the tip/substrate junction (optical near-field signal) is considerably amplified. The under-tip signal largely dominates the microRaman signal from the illuminated surface of the sample (far-field signal), allowing the extraction of chemical signatures at the nanoscale. 

TERS Gap-mode: Increased sensitivity and spatial resolution can be achieved in the TERS gap-mode configuration where the analyte is sandwiched between the tip and a gold or silver surface.

Hot spot: While the SERS signal can come from several hot spots simultaneously, the single hot spot developed at the tip end of the tip, which is very spatially limited, must be carefully identified and located. The precise focusing of the excitation laser at the tip end and the search for the hot spot are achieved by using high magnification and high numerical aperture lenses mounted on piezoelectric plates (displacement 30 x 30 µm).

Polarized laser source: To induce LSPR at TERS probes, polarized laser sources are used and the main component of the electric field is aligned along the tip axis. For opaque samples, a linearly polarized light source is focused at the end of the tip through the lens positioned either on the side of the tip or on top (elephant trunk tip). For transparent samples deposited on microscope slides, the tip end can be illuminated from below through the sample using a radially polarized laser source.

TERS probes - While instruments for robust optical coupling required for TERS measurements have appeared on the microscopy market, the main obstacle to the development of TERS has been and remains the difficulty in designing TERS probes with controlled properties. The opening angle, the radius of curvature, the chemical (oxidation of silver) and mechanical stability are all parameters that determine the appearance and maintenance over time of an effective plasmon resonance at the tip end for a given excitation wavelength, conditions necessary for a strong and reproducible excitation of the Raman signal. LISE has the know-how to develop TERS probes (electrochemical dissolution of gold and silver wire).

Principe du TERS

TERS principle: a) a laser excitation laser is focused at the end of a metal tip (gold/silver for visible excitation) creating a considerable amplification of the local electromagnetic field at the tip/sample junction and thus of the Raman scattered signal under the tip that dominates the signal from the surface illuminated by the laser, b) the energy difference between the scattered Raman photons (inelastic scattering) and the incident photons corresponds to the energy difference between the vibrational levels of the molecule (u0 - u1), similar to IR spectroscopy, c) the Raman signature of a molecular layer can be obtained if the laser is very precisely positioned on the tip of the tip, at the exact location of the hot spot, using a lens mounted on a piezo plate.

Principe TERS

Soumis par Ivan Lucas le mer 31/10/2018 - 14:30

La spectroscopie Raman exaltée de pointe (TERS)

Pour obtenir une signature spectrale à une échelle plus fine que le micromètre (de l'ordre de quelques nanomètres à l'heure actuelle), il faut que la source de l'excitation Raman soit elle-même nanométrique. Cette méthodologie récente exploite l'amplification du champ électromagnétique et donc du signal Raman observée au niveau de nanoantennes (par effet de pointe), c’est l’effet TERS. Cette nouvelle méthodologie proposée pour la première fois dans les années 2000 est délicate à mettre en œuvre et reste l’apanage de quelques laboratoires spécialisés.  

TERS-NanoRaman

Quelques définitions:

Champ proche et champ lointain : A la différence du SERS, les mesures TERS utilisent une pointe effilée (or, argent) illuminée par une source laser et amenée au contact de l’échantillon à analyser. Grâce au confinement du champ électrique à l’extrémité de la pointe (point chaud), le signal Raman des composés à la jonction pointe/substrat (signal champ proche optique) est considérablement amplifié. Le signal sous pointe domine largement le signal microRaman provenant de la surface illuminée de l’échantillon (signal champ lointain), permettant l’extraction de signature chimique à l’échelle nanométrique. 

Gap-mode TERS : Une sensibilité et résolution spatiale accrues peuvent être obtenues dans la configuration gap-mode TERS pour laquelle le composé à analyser est sandwiché entre la pointe et une surface d’or ou d’argent.

Point chaud : alors que le signal SERS peut provenir de plusieurs points chauds simultanément, the point chaud unique développé à l’extrémité de la pointe qui est très limité spatialement, doit être soigneusement identifié et localisé. La focalisation précise du laser d’excitation à l’extrémité de la pointe et la recherche du point chaud sont obtenues en utilisant des objectifs à fort grossissement et à grande ouverture numérique montés sur des platines piézoélectriques (déplacement 30 x 30 µm).

Source laser polarisées: pour induire la LSPR au niveau des sondes TERS, des sources laser polarisées sont utilisées et la composante principale du champ électrique alignée selon l’axe de la pointe. Pour les échantillons opaques, une source lumineuse polarisée linéairement est focalisée à l’extrémité de la pointe au travers de l’objectif positionné soit sur le côté de la pointe ou sur le dessus (pointe trompe d’éléphant). Pour les échantillons transparents déposés sur des lames de microscope, l’extrémité de la pointe peut être illuminée par-dessous au travers de l’échantillon en utilisant une source laser polarisée radialement.

Sondes TERS - Si les instruments permettant un couplage optique robuste nécessaire aux mesures TERS sont apparus sur le marché des microscopies,  le frein principale au développement du TERS a été  et reste la difficulté à concevoir des sondes TERS aux propriétés contrôlées.   L’angle d’ouverture, le rayon de courbure, la stabilité chimique (oxidation de l’argent) et mécanique sont autant de paramètres qui conditionnent l’apparition et le maintien dans le temps d’une résonance plasmon effective à l’extrémité de la pointe pour une longueur d’onde d’excitation donnée, conditions nécessaires pour une exaltation forte et reproductible du signal Raman. Le LISE dispose des savoir-faire pour mettre au point les sondes TERS (dissolution électrochimique de fil d’or et d’argent).

Principe du TERS

Principe du TERS: a) un laser d'excitation laser est focalisé à l'extrémité d'une pointe métallique (or/argent pour une excitation visible) créant une amplification considérable du champ électromagnétique local à la jonction pointe/échantillon  et donc du signal diffusé Raman sous la pointe qui domine le signal provenant de la surface éclairée par le laser, b) la différence d'énergie entre les photons diffusés Raman (diffusion inélastique) et les photons incidents correspond à la différence d'énergie entre les niveaux vibrationnels de la molécule (u0 – u1), de façon similaire à la spectroscopie IR, c) la signature Raman d'une couche moléculaire peut être obtenue à condition de positionner très précisément le laser sur l'extrémité de la pointe, à l'endroit exact du point chaud, grâce à un objectif monté sur une platine piézo.